Week 8

July 17, 2010 at 2:52 pm Leave a comment

I’m a little behind, but here’s the remainder of week 8, ending July 7.  Week 9 will be up soon.  I also made some changes to the rules when I got back on the dollar menu:

1.  I’m allowed four free meals per month. As much as I love doing this blog, it really has cut into my social life.  I miss potlucks and other social meals, and I’m starting to worry that if I keep showing up for events and not eating anything, people are going to think I have some sort of eating disorder.  Being vegan is most certainly not about deprivation, and I love sharing food with my friends.  To keep the rest of my meals under a dollar, I’m subtracting four dollars from the monthly budget.  Instead of $84 per month, I can spend a nice, even $80.

2.  I’m allowed to accept free food. The addition of this rule is mainly due to my recent unemployment.  Turning down free food at this point would be silly.  However, to keep things fair, I can only accept free stuff that is up for grabs for anyone.  Example:  “Hey, I don’t think I can finish my Whiffie Pie – anyone want it?”  Heck yeah, I do!  “Dear, you’re so thin!  Let Grammy send you a case of that imitation cheese you like.”  Sorry, Grammy.  I can’t go for that.

My first “free meal” was a 4th of July potluck at a friend’s house.  I made pizza bagels, topped with Daiya, and various combinations of vegan sausage, pepperoni, artichoke hearts, and sundried tomatoes.  I’ve been on a big veggie kick for the last few weeks, so as soon as I got there I filled up on tons of veggies and hummus.  After a brief intermission, I had mac and cheese, chips and salsa, chili, salad, fig bars, and brownies.

My leftover pizza ingredients got used during weeks 8 and 9, so here’s their approximate cost:

  • onion bagel (1)  $0.45
  • Gimme Lean sausage roll  $3.99
  • artichoke hearts (1/2 can)  $1.35
  • roasted vegetable pasta sauce (1/2 jar)  $1.20

Total:  $6.99

Including what I’ve already posted, I spent $31.43 during my first week back.  Oops.  I’m sure I can make up for it in the coming weeks, and I gotta say, spending a little extra was totally worth the invention of curry spaghetti.

This is kind of like fried rice, but with barley.  (“Fried barley” sounded weird.)  Cooked barley added to sauteed carrots, broccoli, and garlic.  Plus soy sauce, and Sriracha.

I took the leftover pasta sauce and artichoke hearts from 4th of July, and invented curry spaghetti.  I guess it’s entirely possible that I was not the first person to invent this, but I was pretty stoked on it either way.  Whole Foods roasted vegetable sauce, with added garlic, carrots, and artichoke hearts.  Seasoned with curry powder, nutmeg, cinnamon, salt, and pepper.  Served over kasha barley.  I loved this meal – if you like curry, and you like spaghetti, try it!

Obviously, the next step after curry spaghetti would be curry spaghetti and meatless balls.  Curry spaghetti was probably my favorite dollar meal so far, until I made this.  The balls are Gimme Lean sausage, cooked in olive oil and a generic Italian spice mix.  This would also be great with Gardein’s Chik’n Scallopini.

That’s all for week 8 – stay tuned for week 9 (ending July 14).  Scout’s honor.

Follow me on Facebook: Vegan Dollar Menu

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Return from vegan wonderland. Week 9 & 10

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Objective

To prove that I can feed myself tasty, ethical meals for cheaper than a fast food dollar menu.


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers


